The Life Lessons that I have Learned from a Plank Challenge

Rachelle Antoine
4 min readApr 24, 2020

--

You will face many obstacles on the journey. It is up to you to train your mind to focus. Focus will clear the way for you. It will set you on the right direction — Rachelle Antoine

If you are reading this story, I’m pretty sure that you know the story of Jesus and Peter walk on water (Matthew 14:22–33, Mark 6:45–52)

In this story, Peter took one step to get out of the boat and onto the water to meet Jesus. Peter was doing just fine when he was focused on the next step. However, Peter began to see nothing else but the wind and waves and got into trouble when he lost sight of his next step. As a result, he started to sink.

I’m pretty convinced that you have heard this story in church or in bible school. From a practical point of view, it’s important to understand and apply its meaning in our daily lives. We often hear pastors’ commentaries on the importance of focusing on God. Today, I’d like to add a little spice to it by saying “You should only compete against yourself.” Only if Peter knew and understood that he was competing against his own FAITH, he would have made it to Jesus without sinking. It’s important to know that Peter had to master his faith first before taking any steps towards his prize — Jesus. In my case, my prize would have been a $1000.

Two weeks ago, my boss invited his team of five on a plank challenge for a $1000. He gave no rules, no clear instructions. But he said one thing “You should only compete against yourself.” He literally gave us the secret to winning. I have also heard this saying from my favorite motivational speakers: Jim Rohn and Les Brown. Yes, in theory, this saying makes sense.

I guess God sent this challenge for me to move a bit more from theory to practice. However, I can assure you that it is not easy to compete against yourself because it truly put your perseverance and endurance into perspective. Sadly, not many of us truly tap into them.

Over the next couple of days, I continued my daily workout routine and began to put this mindset into practice more than before. I doubled up on my running laps to improve my breathing skills. I did more abs workout to strengthen my cores. I did more squats to strengthen my legs and I purposely focused on lifting heavy items at home to strengthen my arms. And, of course, I repeatedly said “Rachelle, you are competing against yourself.” and continued to listen to my favorite speaker, Jim Rohn.

But as time went by, it was no longer about the challenge. I started paying attention more to my “mindset, my focus skills, my cores and my breathing.” I knew that if I could strengthen these areas- I would win this battle against “myself.” Therefore, I was ready for the battle.

But, something strange occurred the day of battle- I did exactly what Peter did at the last minute. Just when it was 3 minutes and 23 seconds I wanted to know who I was competing against so badly. I turned my head and stared at the zoom screen. I tried to identify my opponent but I couldn’t, too much noise, folks were screaming and I couldn’t really see the screen for it was changing. So, I decided to ask who my opponent was and I heard my colleagues screamed “George.” And guess who George was — My boss. He was so peaceful minding his business and bumping to music.

I tried to regain focus quickly, I just couldn’t. I began to notice the pain in my body and my breathing techniques were out of pattern. When did all this happen. I didn’t even know. From there, I knew that I got into trouble when I lost sight of my own field simply by focusing on someone else’s field. I tried to apply all of what I have been practicing. I tried to repeatedly say that I’m competing against myself. Alas, I couldn’t keep up with my mind. SO I SCREAMED LOUDLY AND FELL ON MY BACK. In one word- I “SUNK” like Peter.

TAKE THE CHALLENGE

I would like to share a couple of lessons learned from this challenge. This experience truly helped shift my focus a little bit more from theory to practice. After evaluating this challenge, it reminded me of Peter’s story. Peter was doing well walking on water until he shift his eyes on waves and wind. In my case, I shifted my eyes to my opponent.

On the other hand, I’m not sure what Peter learned from this. I know that Jesus responded to him by saying “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

A shift of the eye will cause doubt.

I would like to share my own my thoughts and what I have learned from my experience. First, I’ll make this clear:

“ I’m glad that I LOST.”

It has helped to further identify the areas that needed improvement. It strengthened my beliefs and pushed me toward more “practice.” It presents an opportunity for more growth.

A focused eye will embrace more challenge.

Here are some benefits of taking up a challenge. For it will help to develop further skills that can help you make more money in the future.

THE ADVANTAGES OF CHALLENGE

  • It brings discipline
  • It brings consistency
  • It sharpens your skills
  • It gets rid of mediocrity
  • It helps to identify areas of weaknesses
  • You’ll discover something else that you’ve never thought of.
  • It can improve your focus level

Stay focus on the present. It will help to guide, build and transform you — Rachelle

--

--